WP vs. UX – A Heuristic Evaluation

When I signed up for WordPress, I did so because as far as Content Management Systems (CMS’) are concerned, it’s fairly ubiquitous.  However, I quickly realized that establishing a User Experience blog on the WordPress platform was fairly ironic.  Below is a quick and lighthearted heuristic evaluation of my setup process.

Screen Shot 2016-04-08 at 10.22.58 AM

Here we are at Step 1 of 5 during the on-boarding phase.

Why does this matter?  What if I don’t know the focus right now?  Can I just skip this part and get on with it?  I know that I want to start a UX / Tech / Etc. blog, where is that category or anything close?  Okay, I’ll settle for general ‘Design’ because I have to, I have no choice and I don’t know why.

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 10.04.11 AM

Do you have big issues to deal with, like changing the name of your blog because the confusing set up forms stuck you with a ‘dotcom’ after your name, before the real ‘.com’?  Good luck!  You’ll need to get to your dashboard after Googling the solution.  The FAQ will be outdated and tell you to click on buttons and visual elements that no longer exist.  You’ll eventually find it by clicking around but you’ll be so relieved you’re where you want to be that you’ll totally forget how you got there.

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 9.46.17 AM

And lastly, Gravatar.  So you want to upload a picture to go with your profile, a very common action for many websites and apps.  Well, you can’t do it from the app, period.  So you go to the website, which takes you to a seemingly different website and/or company?  They’ve changed the name of the commonplace avatar to ‘GRavatar’.  Why?  Why do I have to log in?  Why do I have to do this?  Can’t I just upload a profile photo?  I get it, it goes everywhere in this network of sites, why wouldn’t a simple avatar?

It appears that the curse of the UX designer, always finding the flaws, hits especially hard with WordPress.  Sure, I have and will manage, but why create so much static for your users?  Are there any other unnecessary pain points that you have experienced?

 

 

Leave a Reply

